Friday, April 5, 2013

ONE SECOND AFTER


“ONE SECOND AFTER”
By: William R. Forstchen
Forward by: Newt Gingrich

This book should be required reading for a Prepper and I strongly recommend you, your family and friends make some time for it. This is a disaster ready and just waiting for the right moment to be deployed against the USA. It is believed by some that the satellite North Korea has in orbit over us right now could have one or more of these weapons on board. This type of weapon is going to used! It is a simple way to destroy an entire country without firing a shot or deploying ANY troops or materials. It is the perfect rogue nation or terrorist weapon of choice.

This book will reinforce why we prep for disastrous events beyond our control.  Events that can last an extended length of time and just how the unprepared and very desperate public will behave looking for food, water and everything else they must have to stay alive.

The story is about an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP) attack on the USA. An EMP is a very strong magnetic pulse produced by a nuclear weapon detonated in space in a low earth orbit (less than 200 miles). It will produce no physical damage, just produce the EMP pulse possibly covering a thousand miles in diameter which passes harmlessly through humans, animal and plant life. However when the pulse wave passes through any wires connecting computers, radios, cell phone, TV’s or just about any electrical powered device it can act like a mini super generator and produce a high voltage spike inside the devices possibly shorting them out or scrambling any operating memory data and rendering them useless. These EMP weapons exist today; it is not a fictional weapon.

The first chapter was a little slow but after that you can’t put the book down. It details what happens when there’s no electricity resulting in no running water, no food supply chain operating, no phones, no radios or TV, no banking, no drug stores or healthcare facilities open and the masses going nuts, looting, killing and Martial Law is declared. Few running cars and many cars that were on the roads during the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP) happened stopped running right where they were because they had computer ignitions. Only very old (early 1960’s and older) cars and trucks with point ignitions will run. Few generators will run because most have electronic ignitions.




Amazon Book Description:
Publication Date: November 24, 2009

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

6 comments:

  1. Very good read. Has some good practical ideas in it also.

    Mikey

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love the book and I agree it is a must read. Added this one about a year ago. You also need to read "Lights Out"

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read this a couple of years ago and it was fascinating. I agree that its a must read, as much as a warning to be prepared, as to point out how fast society would break down in a lasting emergency. The characters struggles with how to treat "law breakers" when their is no law was eye opening and we had several long conversations about it in my family. If you haven't read ALAS BABYLON, its another great read. The author wrote this back in the 50s, but its applicable to today (only our society is now so much more dependent on our social media then they were then.) Very good book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. IT MAKES ONE THINK ! How maney countries have nuclear weapons today 30? How long till one of them uses them and who will it be used on?

    ReplyDelete
  5. For awhile now we have been reading post apocalyptic stories at 3:00 o'clock tea. Actually the wife reads and I listen - very enjoyable by the way.

    One Second After was one of the stories we shared early on. It's an eye opener for sure. It's amazing how quickly our society falls. Good read.

    Another, nearly as good story, is "Lights Out". We recommend it.

    -Moe

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have this book, and read it a few times. It remains fairly high on my list of re-reads.

    One of the appeals is that it is centered around a typical family in the US. They don't have several years of preplanned storage for all members, fortified homesteads that can intimidate Special Forces, and even feature a deadly reality associated with dependance on medicine. Seems like many other reads are mostly by those that seem to have written about their dream stockpiles and different scenarios on how those stock piles are used.

    ReplyDelete

Your thoughts are welcome!